Dr. José Fortes wins 2021 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for UF

Photo of Dr. José A. B. Fortes
Dr. José A. B. Fortes

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 25, 2021) – Dr. José Fortes, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, has been named winner of the 2021 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for the University of Florida, the SEC announced on Thursday.

Dr. Fortes is founding Director of the Advanced Computing and Information Systems Laboratory, and his research interests are in distributed computing, autonomic computing, computer architecture, parallel processing and fault‐tolerant computing. A fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Dr. Fortes has led the development and deployment of cyberinfrastructures for science, education and digital government. His extensive list of honors includes the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering International Scholar of the Year award, the UF Teacher/Scholar of the Year award, and he is a member of the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars.

“Dr. Fortes is one of the most prolific and accomplished faculty members in the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, and he is known for his dual emphasis on scholarship and practical skills,” said Dr. Joe Glover, Provost and Senior Vice President at Florida. “He is an exceptional scholar, accomplished academic leader and highly effective educator.”

To receive an SEC achievement award the faculty member must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally. University winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their campus nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced in April.

Click here to learn more about Dr. José Fortes.